We Are the National Electrical Contractors Association

The Voice of the Electrical Construction Industry. Learn More
Welcome back,

NECA Recognition of Safety Achievement Program

NECA's Safety Awards include two programs, the Safety Excellence Award, and the Zero-Injury Award.

NECA’s Recognition of Safety Achievement program is an elite safety recognition focused on recognizing thriving companies that excel in multiple areas of their safety and health programs. Awards are given to member companies that consistently have OSHA recordable injury and fatality rates at levels lower than the industry standard, and implement internal company safety practices above and beyond basic compliance.

041315_SafetyAwards2The Zero-Injury Award recognizes those member-companies that have worked a full calendar year without recordable incidents. 

The Safety Excellence Award is the associations premier recognition program, and acknowledges member-contractors safety performance. When registering contractors will automatically be entered into two Safety Awards Programs; Zero Injury and Safety Excellence. Winners are selected based on their comparison to BLS data and electrical contractors.

View winners archive »

The Application Process

  1. The awards program opens on January 1, 2018 and will close on February 28, 2018.
  2. Applications received after February 28, 2018 will not be considered as program participants.
  3. Finalist applications will then be sent to district for review.
  4. Safety Excellence and Zero Injury Awards will be sent directly to winning companies and will be recognized at association national, chapter and district meetings including the NECA Safety Professionals Conference.
  5. Only one application submission is required to be entered for both awards.
  6. NOTE: the username and password for the awards website is separate from your NECAnet username and password. You must register as a new participant every year.

View online application 

Download the 2018 awards survey form to collect the data necessary prior to completing your online application. 

Data Evaluated 

There are four parts to the award selection criteria: 

  1. Incident Rates
    • Recordable Cases
    • Lost Workday
    • Non-Fatal Cases Without Lost Workdays
    • Fatalities
  2. Experience Modification Rate (EMR past 3 years documented)
  3. OSHA Citations
  4. Operations and Best Practices 

Note: Frequency and severity rating are important, but the rates will not be the sole source for determining winners.

Award Categories: Man-hours

  • 1 to 25,000 man-hours
  • 25,001 to 50,000 man-hours
  • 50,001 to 100,000 man-hours
  • 100,001 to 150,000 man hours
  • over 150,001 man-hours 

Schedule & Deadlines:

  • January 4, 2018 awards program opens
  • February 28, 2018 applications must be received
  • March 19, 2018 applications will be evaluated and selection of finalists
  • April 6, 2018 NECA will notify award recipients
  • June 4, 2018 Awards and letters will be distributed

If you have any questions please feel free to contact Wes Wheeler at 301-215-4546 or at Wesley.Wheeler@necanet.org or, Aga Golriz at 301-215-4549 or aga.golriz@necanet.org