The Academy of Electrical Contracting Board of Directors Meeting Minutes June 6, 2024 Sun Valley Resort, Sun Valley, ID

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 10:20 am. with the following present (*italics indicate those members* **not** *in attendance*):

Present NECA Officers and Past NECA Presidents

David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman	E. Milner Irvin III ('92)
H. E. Autrey ('73)	Donald G. Laffoon ('20)
Larry Beltramo ('17)	Terry J. Lette ('16)
D. R. Borden, Jr. ('88)	Steve Lindley ('22)
Craig Clark ('14)	David Long ('12)
William B. Cook, Jr. ('96)	Gregory D. Long ('18)
Kirk Davis ('11)	Steven M. Petri ('22)
Robert E. Doran III ('81)	Dennis F. Quebe ('06)
Charles W. Fairchild II ('23)	Shawn P. Smith ('21)
Rex A. Ferry ('02)	Traci M. Walker ('13)
Stephen Gianotti ('20)	Mark Walter ('19)
Mark Harasha ('22)	David M. Washebek ('20)

Fellows Elected to the Board

Term Expires in 2024	Term Expires in 2025	Term Expires in 2026
Wes Anderson ('16)	John M. Grau ('86)	Scott Bringmann ('09)
Michael B. Joyce ('14)	Todd Mikec ('14)	Henry Brown ('21)
Rilo Stephens ('17)	Earl Restine, Jr. ('16)	Joe Kaluhiokalani ('22)
James M. Willson ('14)	Jody Shea ('13)	Mike Weaver ('21)

MINUTES

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 14, 2023, Board of Directors meeting at the Cliff House in Cape Neddick, ME were approved as distributed.

JURY OF FELLOWS REPORT

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the **Jury of Fellows**, reported on the election of seventeen candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval by the Jury of Fellows.

Last year, the Board of Directors approved a change to Article 2, Section 3a of the Rules of the Academy. Section 3 outlines the election procedures and indicates that the election of a nominee to the Academy shall be by unanimous vote of the Jury of Fellows which must have been conducted at 2 annual meetings.

The change that was approved eliminates the 2 annual meeting requirement – a nominee would need only one unanimous vote by the Jury and could be installed the following fall. The change to the rules was approved by NECA's Board of Governors, at their September meeting in Philadelphia. This action is taking effect this year and moving forward.

The Jury recommended favorable action on the following nominees for Fellowship into the Academy of Electrical Contracting:

John Banks, Motor Shop Electrical Construction Company, Inc. in Battle Creek, MI

Jeffrey T. Barber, VEC, Inc. in Girard, OH

Thomas Braley, Pritchard Electric Company in Huntington, WV

Ben D'Alessandro, L.K. Comstock and Company in Farmingdale, NY

Harold Danforth, Buffington - Burns Electric, Inc. in Conyers, GA

Robert W. Davies, Jr., Davies Electric Company in San Diego, CA

Kevin E. Gini, Collins Electrical Company, Inc. in Stockton, CA

Richard Hall, Tennessee Associated Electric in Knoxville, TN

Richard A. Jamerson, Jamerson and Bauwens Electrical Contractors, Inc. in Northbrook, IL

Frederick A. Jensen, J M Electric in Salinas, CA

Patrick J. Maloney, Tice Electric Company in Portland, OR

Debra Margraf, Arizona Chapter, NECA in Phoenix, AZ

Todd T. Michaelsen, Ohio/Michigan Chapter, NECA in Rossford, OH

Christopher Olson, RME Electrical Corporation in Aurora, CO

Marvin "Barney" Pottebaum, Thompson Solution Group in Sioux City, IA

Jeffrey L. Seidel, Hudson Valley Chapter, NECA in Central Valley, NY

Jules W. Weaver, Western Line Constructors Chapter, NECA in Cottonwood Heights, UT

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, were sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation were mailed to each new Fellow and included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in San Diego, CA for their installation ceremony into the Academy on Sunday, September 29, 2024, at the Opening General Session.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the seventeen nominees for induction into the Academy on Sunday, September 29, 2024, in San Diego, CA at the Opening General Session of the NECA Convention.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

ACTION ON REQUESTS FOR FELLOW EMERITUS STATUS

Academy Secretary, Traci Walker, reported that the following thirteen Fellows have requested Fellow Emeritus Status:

David Dickey ('04)

Greg Gossett ('19)

G. Wallace Hook ('12)

Michael Kelliher ('18)

Thomas Moore ('11)

Mark Nemshick ('14)

Edward Shikany ('14)

Robert Turner ('19)

Steve Watts ('19)

Brad Weir ('13)

Robert Zahn ('18)

David Pinter ('08)

Upon motion made and duly seconded, these thirteen Fellows were approved for a change to Emeritus status effective immediately.

DISCUSSION ON EMERITUS STATUS

There was discussion on Emeritus status, which becomes automatic if a Fellow does not attend an annual meeting for three consecutive years (per Academy Rules). Secretary Walker will provide more information to the Board at a later date.

FELLOWS NO LONGER WITH THE ACADEMY

Secretary Walker reported that the following eight Fellows have passed away since the 2023 Annual Meeting:

James L. Davis, Jr. ('04) Gervase Rose ('99)
Robert L. Gotham ('05) Victor Salerno ('20)
Eddie E. Horton ('96) Tom G. Smith ('03)

Anton Klingler ('83) Lester O. Wuerfl, Jr. ('85)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Hardt introduced Traci Walker, Secretary of the Nominating Committee, who reported that the following candidates were nominated for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2025 through 2027).

Bruce Creen ('19) Tom Kyle ('18) Chris Foster ('22) Bob Van Ert ('21)

FUTURE MEETINGS

The Chairman reported on the schedule of future meetings as follows:

Convention Reception

The Ultimate Skybox at DiamondView Tower San Diego, CA September 29, 2024

Summer Meeting

Wild Dunes Resort Isle of Palms, SC June 4 to 6, 2025

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

Lay M. Walk

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:00 am.

Traci M. Walker Secretary