# The Academy of Electrical Contracting General Meeting Minutes June 7, 2024 Sun Valley Resort, Sun Valley, ID

# David A. Hardt ('07), Chairman

Traci M. Walker ('13), Secretary

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chairman Hardt called the meeting to order at 8:00 am. Joe Kaluhiokalani ('22) led the Fellows in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# **WELCOME TO NEW FELLOWS**

Chairman Hardt welcomed those Fellows attending their first Academy meeting.

#### **MINUTES**

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the June 15, 2023, General Meeting held in Cape Neddick, ME were approved as distributed.

### SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary Walker requested a moment of silence for the following eight Fellows who passed away since the 2023 Annual Meeting:

James L. Davis, Jr. ('04) Gervase Rose ('99)
Robert L. Gotham ('05) Victor Salerno ('20)
Eddie E. Horton ('96) Tom G. Smith ('03)

Anton Klingler ('83) Lester O. Wuerfl, Jr. ('85)

Walker also reported on the action by the Board of Directors in approving thirteen Fellows for the transfer from Active to Emeritus status effective immediately:

David Dickey ('04) Edward Shikany ('14)
Greg Gossett ('19) Joseph Tucci ('06)
G. Wallace Hook ('12) Robert Turner ('19)
Michael Kelliher ('18) Steve Watts ('19)
Thomas Moore ('11) Brad Weir ('13)
Mark Nemshick ('14) Robert Zahn ('18)

David Pinter ('08)

# **JURY REPORT**

Dennis F. Quebe ('06), Chairman of the Jury of Fellows, reported on the election of seventeen candidates for Fellowship in the Academy by the Board of Directors because of their unanimous approval by the Jury of Fellows.

Last year, the Board of Directors approved a change to Article 2, Section 3a of the Rules of the Academy. Section 3 outlines the election procedures and indicates that the election of a nominee to the Academy shall be by unanimous vote of the Jury of Fellows which must have been conducted at 2 annual meetings.

The change that was approved eliminates the 2 annual meeting requirement – a nominee would need only one unanimous vote by the Jury and could be installed the following fall. The change to the rules was approved by NECA's Board of Governors, at their September meeting in Philadelphia. This action is taking effect this year and moving forward.

The following nominees were approved for Fellowship into the Academy of Electrical Contracting:

John Banks, Motor Shop Electrical Construction Company, Inc. in Battle Creek, MI Jeffrey T. Barber, VEC, Inc. in Girard, OH

Thomas Braley, Pritchard Electric Company in Huntington, WV

Ben D'Alessandro, L.K. Comstock and Company in Farmingdale, NY

Harold Danforth, Buffington - Burns Electric, Inc. in Conyers, GA

Robert W. Davies, Jr., Davies Electric Company in San Diego, CA

Kevin E. Gini, Collins Electrical Company, Inc. in Stockton, CA

Richard Hall, Tennessee Associated Electric in Knoxville, TN

Richard A. Jamerson, Jamerson and Bauwens Electrical Contractors, Inc. in Northbrook, IL

Frederick A. Jensen, J M Electric in Salinas, CA

Patrick J. Maloney, Tice Electric Company in Portland, OR

Debra Margraf, Arizona Chapter, NECA in Phoenix, AZ

Todd T. Michaelsen, Ohio/Michigan Chapter, NECA in Rossford, OH

Christopher Olson, RME Electrical Corporation in Aurora, CO

Marvin "Barney" Pottebaum, Thompson Solution Group in Sioux City, IA

Jeffrey L. Seidel, Hudson Valley Chapter, NECA in Central Valley, NY

Jules W. Weaver, Western Line Constructors Chapter, NECA in Cottonwood Heights, UT

Text messages on behalf of Chairman Hardt, notifying those selected, were sent following the Board of Directors meeting. Confirming letters of congratulation were mailed to each new Fellow and included an invitation to attend the NECA Convention in San Diego, CA for their installation ceremony into the Academy on Sunday, September 29, 2024, at the Opening General Session.

# **ACADEMY PRESENTATIONS**

The following was presented and is available on the Academy's website:

## **ELECTION OF DIRECTORS**

Chairman Hardt thanked the following Fellows for their service to the Board of Directors from 2022 to 2024: Wes Anderson ('16); Michael B. Joyce ('14); Rilo Stephens ('17) and James M. Willson ('14). Hardt introduced Traci Walker, Secretary of the Nominating Committee who reported that the following candidates were nominated for a three-year term on the Board of Directors (from 2025 through 2027).

Bruce Creen ('19) Tom Kyle ('18) Chris Foster ('22) Bob Van Ert ('21)

There being no additional nominations from the floor, the above slate of candidates was elected upon motion duly made and seconded.

#### **FUTURE MEETINGS**

Chairman Hardt announced that the next gathering of the Academy will be a reception for Academy Fellows and guests during the NECA Convention in San Diego, CA. New Fellows will be installed on Sunday morning, September 29, 2024, at the Opening General Session and the Academy reception will be held at The Ultimate Skybox at DiamondView Tower that evening.

The 2025 annual meeting will be at The Wild Dunes Resort in Isle of Palms, SC from June 4-6.

### **SPEAKER**

Futurist and Business Strategist, Daniel Burrus, spoke on "Retirement Reinvented: Why Learning, Experimenting, and Serving Others Hold the Key to a Prosperous Future!". Daniel also spoke about industry trends and artificial intelligence, including applications in our work and personal lives.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:10 am.

Traci M. Walker

Chay M. Walk

Secretary