# **Academy of Electrical Contracting**

Fall 2024 Highlights





#### **A Welcome Note**

Welcome to the Fall Academy of Electrical Contracting newsletter! Please enjoy the highlights of Fall 2024, including the induction of 23 new Fellows and a reception at the spectacular Ultimate Skybox at DiamondView Tower!

Thank you,

David, Traci and Diane

#### **New Fellows Inducted**



- John Banks, Motor Shop Electrical Construction Company, Inc. in Battle Creek, MI
- Jeffrey T. Barber, VEC, Inc. in Girard, OH
- Thomas Braley, Pritchard Electric Company in Huntington, WV
- Ben D'Alessandro, L.K. Comstock and Company in Farmingdale, NY Harold Danforth, Buffington - Burns Electric, Inc. in Conyers, GA
- o Robert W. Davies, Jr., Davies Electric Company in San Diego, CA
- Kevin E. Gini, Collins Electrical Company, Inc. in Stockton, CA
- Richard Hall, Tennessee Associated Electric in Knoxville, TN David J. Helsel, Collins Electrical Company, Inc. in Fresno, CA
- Richard A. Jamerson, Jamerson and Bauwens Electrical Contractors, Inc. in Northbrook, IL
- Frederick A. Jensen, J M Electric in Salinas, CA • Joseph Kellams, United Electric Company, Inc. in Louisville, KY
- Natalie O. Linder, Black Box Network Services in Plymouth Meeting, PA
- Patrick J. Maloney, Tice Electric Company in Portland, OR
- Debra Margraf, Arizona Chapter, NECA in Phoenix, AZ • Todd T. Michaelsen, Ohio/Michigan Chapter, NECA in Rossford, OH
- Christopher Olson, RME Electrical Corporation in Aurora, CO
- Marvin "Barney" Pottebaum, Thompson Solution Group in Sioux City, IA
- Jeffrey L. Seidel, Hudson Valley Chapter, NECA in Central Valley, NY
- Sara Dinkel Smith, Sycamore Engineering, Inc. in Terre Haute, IN
- Mark L. Thomas, Chicago & Cook County Chapter, NECA in Westchester, IL
- Jules W. Weaver, Western Line Constructors Chapter, NECA in Cottonwood Heights, UT
- Nathan W. Wickizer, Cache Valley Electric Company in Salt Lake City, UT

#### **NECA 2024 San Diego Academy Event Photos Available**



Link To Photos

#### **Future Meetings**

June 4 to 6, 2025: Our next Annual Meeting will be held at The Wild Dunes Resort in Isle of Palms, SC from June 4-6, 2025. We'll begin with a welcome reception & dinner on Wednesday evening, June 4th. There will be business meetings and optional golf/tours on Thursday and Friday, June 5-6, ending with our formal dinner Friday evening. Registration opens late January / early February.

Saturday, September 13, 2025: Reception in Chicago, IL.

# **Request for Presentations**

We are seeking candidates to share a paper and/or presentation at the June 2025 meeting in Isle of Palms, SC. If you have an idea, we can pair you with a writer who will interview you by phone and work with you to develop a finished product.

Please let Traci know of your interest and topic so we can work together to make this happen.

If you'd like to see a list of past papers and presentations, click below.

Papers and Presentations

# **Annual Registration**

In accordance with Article II, Section 6 (d) of the Rules of the Academy, each Fellow is required to register with the Academy on an annual basis. Please be on the lookout for an email from Diane in November to complete this process.

# **Nominations**

We installed 23 Fellows into the Academy of Electrical Contracting during NECA 2024 San Diego. Now is the time to consider a deserving person you feel should share this same honor. Are there people in your chapter, district or region that have rendered exceptional service to NECA and the electrical construction industry?

If you have someone in mind, please talk with your chapter executive to see if they are willing to help you with the task. **OR**, you might consider doing it on your own - you will need one other Academy Fellow who agrees to counter-sign the nomination.

The nomination process, forms and instructions are available <a href="here">here</a>. Please contact Diane Jacobson and she'll walk you through the online process and answer any questions you may have.

Traci Walker, Diane Jacobson and John Grau, Secretary of the Jury, are available to work with nominators to present their candidate in the best possible light.

Academy Nominations are due March 1, 2025.

Please remember the confidential nature of the nomination and selection process.

# **Accessory Needs**

If either you or your spouse/guest need a new name badge or you're having an issue with your medal, please contact <u>Diane</u> and she can assist.

Standard name badges are provided with magnetic fastenings. Warning— magnetic badges should NOT be used near heart devices (such as pacemakers) or magnetic media. We can order a badge with a pin if you prefer.

If you need a new Academy Lapel pin, Diane can mail one to you.

# In Remembrance

- Mary Jane Ames, wife of Fellow Lou Ames ('07), on August 13, 2024 Ken Ashford, husband of Fellow Gloria Ashford ('07), on September 18, 2024
- Wally Hook ('12) on September 17, 2024

# • Greg Stewart ('08) on September 16, 2024

**David Hardt** Academy Chairman davida@hardtelectric.com

**Contact The Team** 

**Dennis Quebe** Jury Chairman dennis.quebe@quebe.com **Diane Jacobson** Academy Administrator 202-991-6259 dsj@necanet.org John Grau Jury Secretary

301-466-5411 jmg@necanet.org

Traci Walker Academy Secretary 202-991-6281 tmw@necanet.org

